By the Kegel Trainers editorial team · Updated November 8, 2026
General information, not medical advice. Check with a doctor or pelvic health physiotherapist before starting, especially if you are pregnant, recently gave birth or had surgery, have pelvic pain, or have a pacemaker.
The short answer
The Elvie Trainer was listed as sold out on Elvie's US store when we checked on November 8, 2026, at its usual price of $199. Elvie had not marked it discontinued, and its UK store still sold it for £169. The closest alternative is the Perifit Care: another inserted trainer that turns your squeezes into app games, but FDA-cleared, with no charging and a 100-day trial, for $119.20 on sale. If you liked how small the Elvie is, the Perifit Care+ is smaller and flexible and, like Elvie, has a motion sensor.
What happened to Elvie?
Chiaro Technology Ltd, the company that traded as Elvie, entered administration on March 28, 2025. According to the notice on Elvie's website, its business and assets were sold the same day to Willow Blossom Holdco Limited. Elvie's website and UK store are still running.
Since then the Trainer has been sold out on the US store, while the UK store still lists it. We do not know whether or when it will return in the US. If you already own one, Elvie's support site still had Trainer guides when we checked; the Trainer comes with a 1-year warranty.
Elvie Trainer vs Perifit
| Elvie Trainer | Perifit Care | Perifit Care+ | |
|---|---|---|---|
| How it works | Inserted; force and motion sensors move a gem through app workouts | Inserted; squeeze and pressure sensors, app games | Inserted; squeeze, pressure and motion sensors, app games |
| Charging | Rechargeable, in its case (Micro USB) | None: built-in battery | None: built-in battery |
| Water resistance | IPX7 (trainer) | "Waterproof", no rating given | "Waterproof", no rating given |
| FDA status | None found; its instructions say it is not for treating or preventing any medical condition | Cleared (K221476) | Cleared (K231780) |
| Warranty | 1 year | 5 years on the battery | 5 years on the battery |
| Returns | None once the seal is broken, unless faulty | 100-day trial | 100-day trial |
| US price | $199, sold out | $119.20 (from $149) | $159.20 (from $199) |
From each maker's US store, the Elvie Trainer instructions and the FDA's 510(k) database, November 8, 2026.
The best Elvie Trainer alternatives
Prices from each maker's US store.
Perifit Care
Insertable biofeedback trainer · Best for: Most women starting out
Also an inserted trainer with app games, but FDA-cleared and with no charging.
An app-connected trainer you insert with its tail left outside. Sensors measure how hard you squeeze and pick up changes in abdominal pressure, and the free app turns your exercises into games with live feedback. FDA-cleared (K221476) for stress, mild-to-moderate urge and mixed urinary incontinence in adult women.
- FDA-cleared for over-the-counter use
- No charging: the battery is built to last for years
- Free app with no subscription
- Drawback: Larger insert than Care+ (8.3 × 3.1 cm)
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze and pressure sensors
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K221476)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Perifit Care+
Insertable biofeedback trainer · Best for: Comfort and more varied workouts
Smaller and flexible, with a motion sensor like Elvie's.
A smaller, flexible version of Perifit Care that adds a motion sensor, so the app can run exercises in different positions and fitness-style routines. Same free app, same 100-day trial. FDA-cleared (K231780) for the same incontinence uses as Perifit Care.
- Smaller, flexible insert (6.3 × 2.7 cm)
- Motion sensor for exercises in different positions
- FDA-cleared for over-the-counter use
- Drawback: Costs $40 more than Perifit Care
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze, pressure and motion
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K231780)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Elitone
External electrical stimulation · Best for: Stress leaks, without inserting anything
External stimulation, FDA-cleared for stress leaks.
A wearable that works from the outside. A thin adhesive GelPad goes near the pubic bone, and electrical stimulation contracts your pelvic floor during a 20-minute session you can do under your clothes. Nothing is inserted and there is no app. FDA-cleared (K183585) for stress urinary incontinence in women, without a prescription.
- Nothing to insert: the pad sits on the skin
- An option if you struggle to do a kegel on your own
- HSA/FSA eligible, per the maker
- Drawback: GelPads are an ongoing cost ($33 for 5)
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K183585)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Side-by-side comparison
Details from each maker's own store and the FDA's 510(k) database, checked on the date shown on each card.
Perifit Care
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze and pressure sensors
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K221476)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Perifit Care+
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze, pressure and motion
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K231780)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Elitone
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K183585)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
| Trainer | Type | Feedback | App | FDA status | Warranty | Returns | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
Insertable, with app | Squeeze and pressure sensors | Free, iOS and Android | Cleared (K221476) | 5 years on the battery | 100-day trial | $119.20 |
|
|
Insertable, with app | Squeeze, pressure and motion | Free, iOS and Android | Cleared (K231780) | 5 years on the battery | 100-day trial | $159.20 |
|
|
External, nothing inserted | None: it stimulates the muscles | No app | Cleared (K183585) | Not stated | 60 days | $399 |
Other alternatives
| Device | How it works | App | FDA status | US price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| kGoal Classic | Inserted inflatable pillow, measures your squeeze | Free; optional $5/month | Maker says it is not a medical device | $179 |
| Emy (Fizimed) | Inserted, measures your squeeze | Free | None found (CE marked in Europe) | $151 |
| Intimina KegelSmart 2 | Inserted, vibrations tell you when to squeeze | None | No clearance found for this model | $69.96 |
kGoal offers 90-day returns and Emy 100 days, per their stores. See the full comparison of 14 trainers.
Before you buy any trainer
Elvie's instructions say not to use the Trainer in the first six weeks after giving birth, and Perifit lists pregnancy, the first 6 weeks after birth, recent surgery and infection among its reasons not to use its trainer. If you have prolapse, pelvic pain or a pelvic floor that feels tight rather than weak, see a clinician first. And remember the exercises do the work: UK NICE guidelines recommend at least 3 months of supervised pelvic floor training, and advise against using biofeedback as a routine part of it. See do kegel trainers work?
Frequently asked questions
Is the Elvie Trainer discontinued?
Is Elvie still in business?
Which is better, Elvie or Perifit?
Is the Elvie Trainer FDA-approved?
Not sure which trainer fits you?
Our main comparison lines up every device by how it gives feedback, whether it needs an app, its FDA status and its price.
Compare all kegel trainers