By the Kegel Trainers editorial team · Updated November 8, 2026
General information, not medical advice. Check with a doctor or pelvic health physiotherapist before starting, especially if you are pregnant, recently gave birth or had surgery, have pelvic pain, or have a pacemaker.
The short answer
Of the kegel trainers we compared, these have FDA 510(k) clearance: Perifit Care, Perifit Care+, Elitone, Elitone for Men and Yarlap, plus Leva for prescription use. We found no clearance for the Elvie Trainer, kGoal, Emy, Intimina KegelSmart 2 or the Kegel8 models sold today. We searched the FDA's 510(k), registration and classification data (last updated October 26, 2026) and read the 510(k) summaries.
Every clearance we found
| Device | 510(k) | Decision | Cleared for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Perifit Care | K221476 | Feb 10, 2023 | Stress, mild-to-moderate urge and mixed urinary incontinence in adult women; over the counter |
| Perifit Care+ | K231780 | Dec 20, 2023 | The same, over the counter |
| Elitone | K183585 | Feb 11, 2019 | Stress urinary incontinence in women |
| Elitone URGE | K223884 | Feb 24, 2023 | Urge urinary incontinence in women |
| Elitone for Men | K253285 | Jan 23, 2026 | Early continence recovery in men immediately after prostate surgery |
| Yarlap | K141643, K160773 | Apr 24, 2015; May 4, 2016 | Muscle stimulator; the maker does not say which cleared model it sells now |
| Leva | K180637, K192270, K212495, K213913 | 2018–2022 | Prescription use; the maker markets it for urinary and fecal incontinence |
| Intimina KegelSmart (original) | K140780 | Sep 10, 2014 | Names KegelSmart and KegelSmart Pearl only, not KegelSmart 2 |
The Perifit clearance K221476 is filed under the name "Perifit"; Perifit says both Care and Care+ are cleared.
No clearance found
- Elvie Trainer: no 510(k) found. Elvie's clearances are for breast pumps, and its instructions call the Trainer an exercise device.
- kGoal Classic and Boost: no 510(k) or listing found. kGoal says its products are general fitness and wellness trackers rather than medical devices.
- Emy (Fizimed): no 510(k) found. Its US page calls it a "CE marked medical device", which is a European mark, not FDA clearance.
- Intimina KegelSmart 2: no 510(k) names it. A "KegelSmart 2 Plus" is registered with the FDA under a contract manufacturer, but registration is not clearance, and Intimina makes no FDA claim for it.
- Kegel8 Ultra 20 V2 and V for Men: the only Kegel8 clearance, K081480 from 2008, is for an older prescription model. Kegel8 markets the Ultra 20 V2 as a CE-certified medical device.
Cleared, approved or registered?
- Cleared means the FDA accepted a 510(k): the maker showed the device is substantially equivalent to one already legally sold. The FDA classes perineometers (pressure trainers) and non-implanted electrical continence stimulators as Class II devices that need a 510(k). Clearance is for a specific use, usually urinary incontinence.
- Approved refers to the stricter premarket approval route for higher-risk devices. Kegel trainers are cleared, not approved, so "FDA-approved kegel trainer" is usually loose wording.
- Registered or listed only means a company has told the FDA it makes or sells a device. It is not a review of safety or effectiveness.
- CE marked is the European conformity mark. It says nothing about FDA status.
Clearance does not mean a device works better than doing kegels on your own. For that, see do kegel trainers work?
FDA-cleared trainers you can buy without a prescription
Prices from each maker's US store.
Perifit Care
Insertable biofeedback trainer · Best for: Most women starting out
K221476, February 2023.
An app-connected trainer you insert with its tail left outside. Sensors measure how hard you squeeze and pick up changes in abdominal pressure, and the free app turns your exercises into games with live feedback. FDA-cleared (K221476) for stress, mild-to-moderate urge and mixed urinary incontinence in adult women.
- FDA-cleared for over-the-counter use
- No charging: the battery is built to last for years
- Free app with no subscription
- Drawback: Larger insert than Care+ (8.3 × 3.1 cm)
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze and pressure sensors
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K221476)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Perifit Care+
Insertable biofeedback trainer · Best for: Comfort and more varied workouts
K231780, December 2023.
A smaller, flexible version of Perifit Care that adds a motion sensor, so the app can run exercises in different positions and fitness-style routines. Same free app, same 100-day trial. FDA-cleared (K231780) for the same incontinence uses as Perifit Care.
- Smaller, flexible insert (6.3 × 2.7 cm)
- Motion sensor for exercises in different positions
- FDA-cleared for over-the-counter use
- Drawback: Costs $40 more than Perifit Care
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze, pressure and motion
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K231780)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Elitone
External electrical stimulation · Best for: Stress leaks, without inserting anything
K183585, February 2019.
A wearable that works from the outside. A thin adhesive GelPad goes near the pubic bone, and electrical stimulation contracts your pelvic floor during a 20-minute session you can do under your clothes. Nothing is inserted and there is no app. FDA-cleared (K183585) for stress urinary incontinence in women, without a prescription.
- Nothing to insert: the pad sits on the skin
- An option if you struggle to do a kegel on your own
- HSA/FSA eligible, per the maker
- Drawback: GelPads are an ongoing cost ($33 for 5)
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K183585)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Elitone for Men
External stimulation for men · Best for: Leaks after prostate surgery
K253285, January 2026.
Elidah's device for men regaining bladder control after prostate surgery. External GelPads deliver stimulation in 20-minute sessions at home, and nothing is inserted. FDA-cleared in January 2026 (K253285) to aid early continence recovery after prostate surgery.
- Cleared specifically for recovery after prostate surgery
- Nothing to insert
- HSA/FSA eligible, or from $38 a month (maker)
- Drawback: No feedback or app, and the priciest device we cover
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K253285, 2026)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Side-by-side comparison
Details from each maker's own store and the FDA's 510(k) database, checked on the date shown on each card.
Perifit Care
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze and pressure sensors
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K221476)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Perifit Care+
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze, pressure and motion
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K231780)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Elitone
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K183585)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Elitone for Men
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K253285, 2026)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
| Trainer | Type | Feedback | App | FDA status | Warranty | Returns | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
Insertable, with app | Squeeze and pressure sensors | Free, iOS and Android | Cleared (K221476) | 5 years on the battery | 100-day trial | $119.20 |
|
|
Insertable, with app | Squeeze, pressure and motion | Free, iOS and Android | Cleared (K231780) | 5 years on the battery | 100-day trial | $159.20 |
|
|
External, nothing inserted | None: it stimulates the muscles | No app | Cleared (K183585) | Not stated | 60 days | $399 |
|
|
External, nothing inserted | None: it stimulates the muscles | No app | Cleared (K253285, 2026) | Not stated | 60 days | $449 |
Frequently asked questions
Is Perifit FDA-approved?
Is the Elvie Trainer FDA-cleared?
Is Elitone FDA-cleared?
Is kGoal FDA-approved?
What is the difference between FDA-cleared and FDA-approved?
Not sure which trainer fits you?
Our main comparison lines up every device by how it gives feedback, whether it needs an app, its FDA status and its price.
Compare all kegel trainers