By the Kegel Trainers editorial team · Updated November 8, 2026
General information, not medical advice. Check with a doctor or pelvic health physiotherapist before starting, especially if you are pregnant, recently gave birth or had surgery, have pelvic pain, or have a pacemaker.
The short answer
Most FDA-cleared kegel trainers are sold as HSA/FSA eligible. Perifit says both its trainers are, though your plan may ask for a receipt or a letter of medical necessity. Elitone says it is HSA/FSA eligible and that Original Medicare (Part B) may cover it with a prescription. Your plan administrator has the final say, so check before you buy.
What each maker says
| Device | HSA / FSA | Insurance or Medicare |
|---|---|---|
| Perifit Care / Care+ | Eligible, per Perifit; a receipt or letter of medical necessity may be needed | Not stated |
| Elitone | Eligible, per Elidah | Original Medicare Part B may cover it with a prescription, per Elidah |
| Elitone for Men | Eligible, per Elidah | Not stated; monthly payments from $38 |
| Yarlap | Eligible, per the maker | Does not bill insurance companies |
| kGoal Classic / Boost | Eligible through Truemed, per kGoal; eligibility is checked by Truemed | Not stated |
| Leva | Not stated | Prescription only; insurance coverage is not guaranteed |
From each maker's site, November 8, 2026. These are the makers' statements, not a ruling by your plan.
How to pay with HSA or FSA funds
- Check with your plan. Ask whether a pelvic floor trainer is an eligible expense and whether it needs a letter of medical necessity (LMN).
- Get a letter if needed. An LMN is a note from a clinician saying the device treats a condition, such as stress urinary incontinence. Some sellers work with services that arrange one; kGoal, for example, uses Truemed.
- Pay with your HSA or FSA card, or pay normally and claim it back with the itemized receipt.
- Keep the paperwork with your other medical receipts.
Trainers sold as HSA/FSA eligible
Prices from each maker's US store.
Perifit Care
Insertable biofeedback trainer · Best for: Most women starting out
Your plan may ask for a receipt or a letter of medical necessity.
An app-connected trainer you insert with its tail left outside. Sensors measure how hard you squeeze and pick up changes in abdominal pressure, and the free app turns your exercises into games with live feedback. FDA-cleared (K221476) for stress, mild-to-moderate urge and mixed urinary incontinence in adult women.
- FDA-cleared for over-the-counter use
- No charging: the battery is built to last for years
- Free app with no subscription
- Drawback: Larger insert than Care+ (8.3 × 3.1 cm)
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze and pressure sensors
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K221476)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Elitone
External electrical stimulation · Best for: Stress leaks, without inserting anything
Elidah says Medicare Part B may cover it with a prescription.
A wearable that works from the outside. A thin adhesive GelPad goes near the pubic bone, and electrical stimulation contracts your pelvic floor during a 20-minute session you can do under your clothes. Nothing is inserted and there is no app. FDA-cleared (K183585) for stress urinary incontinence in women, without a prescription.
- Nothing to insert: the pad sits on the skin
- An option if you struggle to do a kegel on your own
- HSA/FSA eligible, per the maker
- Drawback: GelPads are an ongoing cost ($33 for 5)
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K183585)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Elitone for Men
External stimulation for men · Best for: Leaks after prostate surgery
Or from $38 a month.
Elidah's device for men regaining bladder control after prostate surgery. External GelPads deliver stimulation in 20-minute sessions at home, and nothing is inserted. FDA-cleared in January 2026 (K253285) to aid early continence recovery after prostate surgery.
- Cleared specifically for recovery after prostate surgery
- Nothing to insert
- HSA/FSA eligible, or from $38 a month (maker)
- Drawback: No feedback or app, and the priciest device we cover
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K253285, 2026)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Side-by-side comparison
Details from each maker's own store and the FDA's 510(k) database, checked on the date shown on each card.
Perifit Care
- Type
- Insertable, with app
- Feedback
- Squeeze and pressure sensors
- App
- Free, iOS and Android
- FDA status
- Cleared (K221476)
- Warranty
- 5 years on the battery
- Returns
- 100-day trial
Elitone
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K183585)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
Elitone for Men
- Type
- External, nothing inserted
- Feedback
- None: it stimulates the muscles
- App
- No app
- FDA status
- Cleared (K253285, 2026)
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Returns
- 60 days
| Trainer | Type | Feedback | App | FDA status | Warranty | Returns | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
|
Insertable, with app | Squeeze and pressure sensors | Free, iOS and Android | Cleared (K221476) | 5 years on the battery | 100-day trial | $119.20 |
|
|
External, nothing inserted | None: it stimulates the muscles | No app | Cleared (K183585) | Not stated | 60 days | $399 |
|
|
External, nothing inserted | None: it stimulates the muscles | No app | Cleared (K253285, 2026) | Not stated | 60 days | $449 |
Frequently asked questions
Is Perifit HSA or FSA eligible?
Does Medicare cover Elitone?
Do I need a prescription for a kegel trainer?
Not sure which trainer fits you?
Our main comparison lines up every device by how it gives feedback, whether it needs an app, its FDA status and its price.
Compare all kegel trainers